So You Can Plant More Wheat

I would like to remove some rocks from your

field so that you can plant more wheat.

And those hills that I see that are part of you,

I have some trees in mind for them

and flowering grasses, so that you won’t erode

when the elements pour.

Are we not lovers? Cannot I speak to you like

this?

Do I need to ask your permission to hitch up

my ox and sing to him as I improve your vast

terrain?

The title to your heart came to my office. In

looking at it a great interest in your soul

developed. The care of your soul became mine.

So I would like to remove some stones from

your meadows; then an orchard you could grow,

and the world, and the world then, will come

to taste your riches.

-HAFIZ

know what i mean?

