Studying the Yamas : The 5 Moral Restraints

In classical yoga, the 8 limb path forms the structural framework for the yogi. In studying, I have developed a love for the texts and the ancient thought that is still practiced today. The first limb of the 8 limb path is called the Yamas – the moral restraints or social contracts.
Ahimsa | Nonviolence
Satya | Truthfulness
Asteya | Nonstealing
Brahmacharya  | Nonexcess
Aparigraha | Nonpossessiveness
These restraints are to be practiced on all levels (actions, words, and thoughts) and help cultivate a transformational new self-awareness. The next 5 post will devoted to the Yamas and my experience of them.

know what i mean?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s