From Complacency to Possibility

When I was 20 and lost in the shuffle, I remember a conversation with my dad. The usual 20something conversation, where I stress about school and jobs and why Adam ate the fruit, condemning us to a life of sin. when your 20 everything is very pressing and you need answers to these insurmountable life questions. Luckily my dad has lived through 20, and gained a fair amount of insight and understanding along the way. That day, he told me that whatever I want out of life, the whole universe will  conspire in giving it to me. I don’t think that my dad has read Paul Coelho, but it’s the same philosophy. That when you set your mind on something, and you feel it in your bones, don’t ignore that desire – instead focus on it and life will give it to you. I believe that, and I believe God puts desires in our hearts for a reason. images

I have so many dreams for life, so many things I want to achieve and feel and see and have. Sometimes, we get stuck in a place of complacency and are blinded by mundaneness- and we don’t even realize it until someone pulls the plug on it and your left with yourself. That’s what happened yesterday when I was let go from my position. At first it was shock and and anger, but then it was relief and excitement. I loathed that position and the management and the wasted time trapped behind a computer screen.It was as though I had been delivered from all the bullshit that weighed me down Monday through Friday. Within an hour I was offered another position at my neighbors law firm, then I was Spring cleaning in Fall and blasting Against Me! and all the sudden it felt like the old Me had risen from the depths of complacency and elevated into that 20something state of possibility.

And it feels so good.

know what i mean?

