Trust and Believe

“Don’t worry about what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive and do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

Life has been so beautifully hectic lately, I finally made some time to relax, drink some green tea, and reflect. I’m a month in to my new position, working on marketing and development for a non-profit that operates a school and dental supply program throughout California. It is truly my dream job- utilizing my full skill set while promoting equity in education. Every day I drive to work I am still in awe, still amazed at how faithful God is in answering prayers and providing for our every need.

I wish I could say that I enjoyed my 3 month summer vacation after graduating college as much as I could have. Parts of it were great, I traveled, spent time with family, drank, swam and slept in. The other parts were darker- days when I wouldn’t leave my bed, plagued by momentary spells of depression, negativity and hopelessness seething through my veins- it really was that dramatic!
It wasnt until I had enough loathing in self defeat that I started to be intentional about my thoughts.
What I have learned is that your thoughts run your life. They create your reality and shape your every moment. I started focusing not on my new found boredom of post-college-unemployment, but rather all the blessings in my life. And there are so many! I made a mental list of all the good things, I emailed a few close friends to thank them for being a positive support in my life, I read more, complained less (questionable from my boyfriends perspective), and enjoyed the beautiful Bay Area weather more. I can’t say it was my new positive mental attitude, a shift in the economy, or simple good luck, but I do know that I received a job offer 2 weeks after my pity party official ended.

We may not always know what the future holds, but we know who holds it. Scripture says God holds our future in the palm of his hands.

And I know that much is true.

So wherever you are in this season, know that there is a plan for your life. And that it is so much more than you may be able to imagine right now.

God says, “I know the plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

So instead of wasting your time doubting the creator of the universe, invest your time in yourself, in your community, and in exploring your passions. That’s what the world needs.

know what i mean?

