Who Are We Not to Be?

I’m spending the week as a dorm mom/camp counselor at Tech Trek, a science and math camp for middle school girls. I am the youngest staff member by about 30 years, undeniably making me the “cool dorm mom”. I have 11 girls that I am responsible for, they are the sweetest little angels – even made me personalized signs to hang on my door!

I feel so blessed to be here this week. There are 88 girls from all around northern California who have an interest in STEM fields and completed a competitive application process to get here. Being with them reminds me how important it is to be a source of encouragement and positivity in people’s lives, especially young girls. Although females have made wide strides as far as equality in education and the workforce, (as we celebrate the 40th year passage of  Title IX), we still live in a male dominated society where girls are reared to be passively cute and compliant. I have such an amazing opportunity to empower these young girls and instill in them the importance of hard work and their ability to overcome adversity.

And it’s not just these girls. Not just this week. Every day, every where we are, every person we encounter, is an opportunity to be a positive influence. Because you never know some one else’s situation. And that smile or kind word could be the only thing getting them through the day. Today we held a big money management activity and I was walking around helping the girls with it. I walk over and bend down to help this one kinda awkward little girl with glasses, and she says “omg your so pretty”. I chuckled up a smile and said “thank you, so are you sweetheart”  But it really did flatter me, not because I have horrible self esteem, but because thats not something I really hear, from strangers at least. And it feels good. And it just made me think, how much of an impact little words can have. And if I could be that little voice, that little feel good in someone else’s life, even if just for a day, then I think I’d be doing my part.

We are so powerful.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Marianne Williamson

know what i mean?

