impressive//when you realize your ex is a total fucking loser

I’ve spent the majority of the day working on midterm papers at my parents. Shane had a little BBQ for his birthday so I stopped by there for awhile. One of my fabulous ex’s was also in attendance at this function. Being the socially polite person I was raised to be, I gave him a hug and said hi, just as I did everyone else. As we all conversated, I noticed said ex was unuasually quite and reserved, sulking in his chair not talking to anyone or joning the conversation. I asked him why he’s so quite and if he’s ok…

“yeah just tired”

oh, how come?

“hungover. started drinking at 11AM yesterday till 1 AM this morning”

(in my quick wit) impressive.

then all the other boys laugh and chime in on the hint of judgement they witnessed in my voice. I laugh it off and mumble something about it being quite an accomplishment.

But as I was sitting there, surrounded by my old friends and boyfriends, it just hit me. How is that judgmental of me? You are 26  years old and still getting wasted, unemployed, and living off your family. not to mention you carry an awful aroma of cigarettes and musk.

Whatever. Maybe I am judgemental. All I know is that I would never show up to my best friends birthday party 1)looking like that and 2) being a hungover unsocial mess. then again I would never talk about obsessive alcohol consumption as a means for gaining sympathy among my peers.

Well I feel better now. Need to get back to the Bay ASAP. The more I see how my old friends are living, the more it motivates me to do better.

 

 

know what i mean?

