when politics > womens health

Despite being a Political Science student, I usually refrain getting into political debates, but a new move by Susan G. Komen (a world renowned Breast Cancer Foundation) has really got me riled up. In an article published by the New York Times, Komen explains it’s removal of funds to Planned Parenthood – who provided thousands of mammograms and preventative breast cancer treatment and education – many are saying due to political pressures from anti-abortion right wing conservatives.

Anti-abortion advocates and Web sites have criticized the Komen foundation’s financing of Planned Parenthood for years. And in December, LifeWay Christian Resources, which is owned by the Southern Baptist Convention, said it was recalling a pink Bible it was selling at Walmart and other stores because a dollar per copy was going to the Komen foundation and the foundation supported Planned Parenthood.

This just infuriates me. Planned Parenthood provides so many, much needed services to women who could not otherwise afford it. I remember my step mom taking me there when I was 21 for my first pap smear – I remember being terrified and embarrassed that I had failed to previously take care of this. And I remember the staff, so caring and informative, I remember feeling safe and thankful that such an organization existed. It makes me sad that some people think Planned Parenthood is nothing but an abortion clinic. I think this will be the first year I don’t run in Komen’s Breast Cancer marathon.

know what i mean?

