Ladies Stay Up, Fellas Keep Up

I met one of my favorite spoken word artist tonight, Ise Lyfe. He was charming, handsome and intelligent as usual. I think its important to set your standards for men, and not just take anything that walks your way. It is so refreshing to see someone really living out their passion and giving back to their community. (crushhh)

I caught up with one of my best friends for a minute tonight. Charlie is such a sweetheart and a genuinely good person, I feel so blessed to have him in my life through all these years. It is rare that you find those people that you can go months without talking to, but you know your friendship is strong and love is unconditional. The type of friend you don’t feel like you have to keep up with in order to maintain the friendship.

I would like to keep up with all my friends, and for the most part I do, but not to the extent I would like. But that’s just life. People do their own thing and you do yours. I have pictures of all the boys everywhere in my house and room, they are always in my thoughts, and more importantly in my prayers. So even if we cant talk every week, I look at pictures like Charlie’s’, everyday, and smile and thank the Lord for blessing me with such a good man.

Sometimes I think, how nice it would be to be in a relationship (mostly when its cold and I want a fireplace and cuddles) But mostly, I think that its good for me to be single, to work on myself. And sometimes I just sit in my room and listen to Common and think, and wonder if such a man exists, so tall, dark, intellectual and spiritual. I’d like to think he does. I mean, I read his autobiography so he has to be real, but I mean in my reality. Sometimes I think about my future partner and wonder what he is doing right now.

My friend Tyler and I met for coffee this morning, then went to campus for a bit. Tyler is adorable and cracks me up. He moved out of his apartment and now lives in his band van, constantly re-parking it around campus. Today he told me that he moved, and his neighbor Tom, moved right next to him!  Thought, oh wow that’s great you finally got a place…and which one is Tom?

No, I mean I moved streets, I park on Parker now, not Hillgoss.

OMG, you mean you moved your van?

Yeah….i moved!

And who is Tom?

Tom is the blue van in front of mine, I woke up this morning and saw that he moved to Parker street too!

OMG does he go to Cal too?

Tom? Oh no, he’s like 60, came down from Washington.

And that is why I love Tyler.

Then he showed me how you can just walk into certain empty classrooms on campus and use them at your leisure. So there we are, just the two of us in a conference/classroom, using the blackboard, hooking our comp up to the PA system.. we could have dropped down the screen and used the projector too!

Oh the things I learn from boys.

know what i mean?

