Christopher….a letter to a mother

 

I just put cottage cheese on my toast…your were right, it really is good on everything!! Yesterday afternoon when I was walking up to my apartment, when I heard a very distinct, very abrupt “EYY AAAAAMY” I thought, this is peculiar seeing as though I dont really know anyone in Berkeley yet. “AAAMMMY” I thought to myself, “God? is that you”
It was my downstairs neighbors yelling to me through their window. There are many things about ghetto black culture that I will never understand, such as the disregard for walls and doors as barriers to proper communication. Anyway, they were telling me that the mail man came by looking for Roger. I said thanks, and a little later knocked on their door and told them that I was going to be sewing, and if they ever needed anything sewn or altered, to let me know.
Mama bear, Raquel AKA “Rocky”‘s face lit up and said
oh wow, Ive always wanted to learn how to sew, I’d like to make some pillows
I smiled back and said I would teach her. DeShanea, AKA “Day Day” the teenager, said she did have this pair of pants that was too big in the waist… they were polyester so I took them in with no problem, and with a beautiful binding stitch that would make you proud of me. I must say, that most important things about life I have learned from you. Not just cottage cheese and sewing, but you have shown me how to treat people, how to make them feel loved and valued, to not be judgemental and give everyone a chance. You have taught me to be kind to others, and even kinder to myself. You dont know how much it means to me to sit with you over the kitchen table and have you genuinely interested in my life, in my new classes…asking me all about them and being excited with me. These are things I will never get from my own mother and I just wanted you to know how cherished you make me feel. I love you so much Christopher, you are are saint.
Later that night I noticed a HUGE black spider in my room….I immediately ran downstairs and knocked on their door, Keith AKA”Koko” and two of the little girls came up and killed it for me. Well Koko killed it, me and the girls screamed and squirmed and laughed. It feels good to not be scared of people. To let them in. Kindness goes a long way. At 10:15 theres a knock on my door…. I thought, yup this is it, this is how I’m gonna go, death by murder in the hood. But no, it was the little girls,
our mom wants to know if you want some nachos when shes done making them”
life is so full of beauty if you only allow yourself to see it.
One thought on “Christopher….a letter to a mother

know what i mean?

